another newbie with newbie questions about a new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bcmakesiteasy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all, this is my first post on these forums and i'm also new to the whole aquarium scene :fish2: Here is my situation:

I bought a 1.5 gallon tank (a huge mistake, i know) that came with a crappy in water whisper filter. I bought the decor, gravel and all that as well. Me not knowing too much, not doing any research, and buying the tank kit on a whim, I bought a few guppies and put them in only to find them dead within a day or so :huh: After further research, I figured out that I need to cycle the tank properly before doing all that. (I will be following the fish less cycle guide once I get my new tank). I have decided to scrap this 1.5 gallon tank and buy a 10 gallon starter tank, and do the fishless cycling.

My question is: Can I use the gravel, and decor and put it into my new 10 gallon tank? I realize I have not property cycled this small tank, yet I have done water changes and decholorinated the water, as well as left the filter on with my heater for almost a week now. Would it speed up the process of cycling? Also, I plan to buy the top fin or aquaculture cheap 10 gallon starter kit and i Know the filter isnt the best, and i plan on changing out the bulbs as to florscent as well. I am on a tight budget and I know the filter these kits come with arent the best, and i was wondering if it would help if I used the power filter it comes with, and my old small in water whisper filter to supplement the filtration..would this make any difference?

Sorry for the essay guys! any help would be appreciated!
:brows: