Another noob here.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Flotsam

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to the forum, and I really wish I'd found this place sooner, because I've already learned enough to know that I should have done things differently than I have so far. But here I am, better late than never.

I was given a tank recently, about 53 gallons from what I can tell. Like many noobs I plunged right in, and have already made some mistakes, though I'm not sure yet how bad they really are.

Last Saturday I setup the tank. I filled it with gravel, water (adding Wardly 3 in 1), and got the filter running. The filter is an old Whisper 4, but I was told by the previous owner that it did fine in the tank for him, and was all he needed. I've since then been told I should have something that does 500 gallons per minute as opposed to the 400 gpm this old Whisper does.

Sunday I spoke to the people in my local fish store, and they told me I should be able to add fish the following day. So Monday I bought two green Swordtails, a Bala Shark, and a Iridescent Shark. The following day I bought two Balloon Mollyies, and two Cory Cats.

At that point in time I had no idea what I was doing, actually I still don't know what I'm doing. LOL But I now believe I shouldn't have gotten fish so soon, and should have done a fishless cycle. But it's too late for that now.

This is already getting long, sorry about that. ;)

Well, a day or so after I got the Ballon Mollies into the tank I suspected one was pregnant, did some reading up on it, and somehow actually realized I was right. I noticed what looked to be a hole near her anal fin, and immediately put her into a breeder net, the next morning I awoke to about 20 or so little babies.:D So now I feel like a worried parent, especially since realizing I've probably already made lots of mistakes.