Any estimates on cycle?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Starrchild

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello. Newbie here (to this site, but not to aquariums). I'm in the process of setting up a 75 gallon blackwater tank for tetras and angelfish. I've had it running...no fish....with the sand, gravel and driftwood for about three weeks. I added a couple of plants a week ago, and there's peat in the filter. Right now the ammonia test reads at 4.0 ppm. This is the largest tank I've set up. All smaller ones I've cycled for a couple of weeks, and then just put the fish in and all was fine. (I do add some water from my outdoor pond to start the cycling). My question is, does anyone have an estimate as to how long this tank will take before it stabilizes? Will adding more water from the pond speed up the process?

Thanks for any responses.

You can take filter media from your other cycled tanks and put it in your 75 gallon tank's filter. It will speed up the cycle a ton.

Are you adding ammo to the tank? Just remember that your tank is cycled when you hit 0 ammo, 0 nitrite, and 5-20ppm of nitrate, What are your parameters right now. That will give us a much better idea of how long you still have.

Thanks for the replies.
No, I haven't added any ammo. Perameters as of this posting are:
PH: around 7.2
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: between 5.0 ppm and 0 ppm
Ammonia: looks to be at 2.0 ppm (if there were a 3.0 on the chart I'd pick that).

I added a cup of water from two of my well established tanks after I took these readings. So I'll check it again tomorrow.

Thanks for the replies.
No, I haven't added any ammo. Perameters as of this posting are:
PH: around 7.2
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: between 5.0 ppm and 0 ppm
Ammonia: looks to be at 2.0 ppm (if there were a 3.0 on the chart I'd pick that).