Aqua Clear Filters?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Talvari

Aquarium Advice FINatic
For my 46 gallon planted tank, I was thinking Id go with the Aqua Clear (40-70) filter. However, I've been seeing alot of complaints that the filter develops leaks after a short period of time because the plastic material is shoddy.

Fish would be rams, raspora, cory's and cardinal tetras...

Do any of you have ant experience with the Aqua Clear filters?

Would I be better off going with a MarineLand 350?

I have several aquaclears and have never had a problem with them. I've been using them for over 10 years and I highly recommend them.

If you are referring to the HOB Aquaclears (20,30,70,110) then I have used many over the years and never had a leak. Best HOBs on the market IMO.

Perhaps others have had differing experiences. We'll see what more comments bring.

would not use anything else , no leaks... you can modify the media to suit your needs.... easy to clean , moves a lot of water ....all round good filter.

I've owned AquaClears for almost 5 years and never had a problem with any leaking. I think they are the best HOB filters in town, period. Media baskets are large and give plenty of options as far as what media you can run. They have adjustable flow control which is a nice touch in short tanks with sand.

Edit: I've owned the Aquaclear 50 and 30 for quite some time.

AquaClears are the best HOB filters ever. Customizable media, easy cleaning, doesn't need replacing, can last a long time, quiet for the most part than other HOBs, and cheaper than some as well. Definitely recommend one.