Beginner looking for advice in regards to fish and plants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheKraken

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello Everyone,

Newbie here! I recieved a 10 gallon tank for christmas this past year and finally have the tank set up! I'm super excited as I have been wanting to give the hobby a shot for a little while now. Anyways, I have several questions in regards to my setup and I thought Id come to the experts for some advice! First I will let you know what kind of tank I currently have and what I have done so far:

Top Fin
10 Gallon Beginners Kit (came with the heater, filter and various other stuff a beginner would need)
Have it on a stand which unfortunately is not completely level as the floors in my home are not. Nothing too drastic and barely noticeable.

I have added a sand substrate with a small cave decoration and a larger decorative bonsai tree. (Looks pretty cool) I have also added a few live plants and a moss ball as well as hear they are good for combating algae.

I have cycled my tank for about a week with no fish. The directions that came with the tank said let it cycle for 24 to 48 hours but i figured id give it a week. After the first week, I took my water to get tested at Petsmart and these were my results:
Ammonia - 0
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate- 0
pH- 6.8
Alkalinity - 120
Hardness- 300
Chlorine - 0

At this point I figured it was ok to add my first fish to the aqurium. So my first additions were a red wag platy and a balloon belly molly. I know its early as I have only had them 4 days but they look pretty healthy.

Ok now that you know what I have...here come the questions related to both fish additions, plants and some general.