Bio filtration in a canister.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dristal

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I recently started a 29g freshwater. Going on 4 weeks now, and I am up to 7 fish (3 mollies and 4 tetra) and a zebra snail. My ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates are all fine. Tank is running great fish are healthy.

However, I am curious about the benefit of bioballs vs. ceramic rings vs. Biohome ultra (found online, LFS doesnt carry) in my canister filter (Aquatop-CF400UV). Currently it has sufficient mechanical filtration, water is always crystal clear, and the top rack has some bioballs in it. Is that good, just okay? Or does it not really matter too much. I would like to have the best possible bio for my tank as I am just starting out.

TL/DR. Should I use Bioballs, Ceramic rings, Biohome Ultra, or some other product for my biological filtration?

PS. Is active carbon worth using and how often should it be replaced?

I recently started a 29g freshwater. Going on 4 weeks now, and I am up to 7 fish (3 mollies and 4 tetra) and a zebra snail. My ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates are all fine. Tank is running great fish are healthy.

However, I am curious about the benefit of bioballs vs. ceramic rings vs. Biohome ultra (found online, LFS doesnt carry) in my canister filter (Aquatop-CF400UV). Currently it has sufficient mechanical filtration, water is always crystal clear, and the top rack has some bioballs in it. Is that good, just okay? Or does it not really matter too much. I would like to have the best possible bio for my tank as I am just starting out.

TL/DR. Should I use Bioballs, Ceramic rings, Biohome Ultra, or some other product for my biological filtration?

PS. Is active carbon worth using and how often should it be replaced?