Bitten By The Tank Bug

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bettababe1011

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have been bitten by the tank bug. I want another tank. I'm hoping something in the twenty to seventy-five gallon range. This all depends if it's affordable. What is a good starter community tank fish for the almost absolute beginner? I have had five bettas in gallon bowls, and a current one in a ten gallon tank. I will never keep another fish in a bowl, so I don't need that lecture, lol. I need to know as much info about the fish as possible. What foods they need, good tank mates, etc. I want a colorful beginners community tank. Thanks.

You need to decide on tank size before stocking. I would suggest as big a tank as you can manage. A 30 gal is a good size for a beginner community, although a 40 or a 55 (or even bigger) would give you wider choices in fish. Also, having a bigger tank allows you to keep more of the fish in a school .... a big school of fish looks much better than just 3 or 4 of a kind. <And the fish behaves better as well.>

My choices of tanks to start a tropical community would be a 40B or a 75g. The 18" width offers a lot more decorating options as well as more square footage for fish to swim. Cheap lighting is readily available for a 75g in the form of shop lights.

Welcome to the wonderful world of Multiple Tank Syndrome. Once you've got it, it's hard to stop. I'd hate to think about what my basement would look like if I didn't have to spend money remodeling the rest of the house.

I looked at tanks today. There was a twenty gallon starter tank kit for around eighty bucks, that was a really good deal. I'm going to save up for it.

There were some little spotted puffers. They were so cute, but I know they aren't so little as adults. I want one someday, but when I'm more experienced and have a much larger tank.