Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-03-2004, 02:22 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
can a 'dead' fish be used to cycle a tank? fishless cycling

i was wondering, can i use a dead fish to cycle a tank?

i want to do a fishless cycling..
but instead of using ammonia from the grocery store...

can i just use a dead fish???
__________________

__________________
Bubble_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 02:27 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,230
You can use a piece of shrimp or a dead fish. There is an article on fishless cycling in the Articles Section. The article I am thinking of is in the SW section, but it also applies to FW.
__________________

__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 11:57 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 641
Send a message via Yahoo to Pufferpunk
I don't know about you, but I wouldn't want anything rotting in a tank I was going to put my nice, healthy fish in. What's wrong with a tried & true scientifically proven method of plain old ammonia? Much more controlled, IMO.
__________________
The Puffer Forum
http://www.thepufferforum.org/

Pufferpunk's Tanks
http://wetwebfotos.com/Home?actionRe...ew&userID=1918
Pufferpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 12:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,061
I would have to agree with Pufferpunk on that. I personally have never, nor will I ever cycle that way, but I'm sure you will need more then one fish, right?
__________________
Regards,
Fawn
FawnN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 12:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Thsi dead fish you are referring to, is not currently swimming around in your tank is he??

JK! I guess you could do it that way, but I would not, just seems kinda nasty.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 05:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 748
While the idea is sort of creepy, I am a big fan of creative, inexpensive methods - especially when they are less work. I would guess that when using this method you would not have to be adding something to the tank every day like you do with ammonia.

If you do opt for this method I would suggest keeping a close eye on the water parameters just to make sure that everything is going according to plan. Good luck with whatever you choose!
__________________
hashbaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 06:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,061
Ammonia is not expensive at all and your not adding it everyday. I bought a half gallon for 99 cents and I was able to cycle over 3 tanks with it and tossed out the rest.

I would be concerned that if you need more then one dead fish to cycle, where do you plan on getting it? And I personally think that anything decaying in your tank just causes other problems during your cycling.
__________________
Regards,
Fawn
FawnN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 07:00 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
Rotting fish do create ammonia, so will cycle a tank. Someone on this board did a cycle using a dead shrimp a while back & she kept a log & posted it. As I recall, the biggest problem with her experience is that it STINKS! .... not just in the tank, but in the room, etc.

A lot of trouble to save a buck's worth of ammonia ... IMO...

and with the price of shrimp these day ... ammonia is prob. cheaper!
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 12:22 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
It would work -- i.e., create ammonia to start the cycle. But I would be wary of how the fish died. Did it have a disease, parasite, etc.?
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 12:57 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,061
Yeah, where exactly would you go for dead fish. Do you have them lying around in your freezer? Because when my fish die, I never think to myself, "self, I think I will throw you in the freezer so that I can use you to cycle my next tank."

Not trying to be rude at all, just curious.
__________________
Regards,
Fawn
FawnN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 03:38 AM   #11
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you don't want to buy ammonia, use fish flakes. But a dead fish? Come on! Not only will it create ammonia but it will also spoil the water. Althought I am pretty sure most parasites leave after the host dies but it may still spread some other disease to new healthy fish. BTW have some respect for the poor dead fish!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycling, dead, fishless, fishless cycling, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After a fishless cycle, how many fish to add? jm667 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 05-02-2009 04:33 PM
Fishless Cycling w/Clear ammonia and Nutrafin Cycle Rondory Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 02-26-2006 09:19 PM
Fishless or Fish Cycle? zacdl Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 28 08-17-2005 06:13 PM
fish vs. fishless cycling wright4lfe Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 07-19-2005 12:10 PM
Can I cycle quicker with a dead fish or shrimp in tank? heerism Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 06-10-2004 09:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×