Can someone help me interpret this?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JoeH2014

Aquarium Advice Regular
I just completed a fishless cycle last week and later in the week proceeded to add some fish. I added 10 neons, 6 rasboras, 4 corys, and a few days later added a pearl gourami. However, I've been having neons die left and right and after having no problems, two of the rasboras have died.

They all seem to be behaving properly, eating well and swimming a lot. So after checking the basics, ammo, nitrites, and nitrates, which were all fine, I turned to pH and water hardness.

My local store didn't have a liquid test for hardness, so I had to settle for test strips. I have an API master kit for the other tests.

Below are my results. For KH, I believe I'm supposed to divide the ppm number by 17.9 to get to degrees of hardness.

My question is, could water hardness be causing my problems, or is it more likely something else?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Attachments

• 1409099678573.jpg
    1409099678573.jpg
    211.8 KB · Views: 93
As I said above, I completed a fishless cycle. I've checked ammo, nitrites, and nitrates three times and all readings have been normally.

As I said above, I completed a fishless cycle. I've checked ammo, nitrites, and nitrates three times and all readings have been normally.

ammonia has stayed at 0?

Looks like hard alkaline water if I am viewing the strips correctly. Might be tough for neons. How did you acclimate them?

That's what I'm wondering was the cause of my problem. I floated them in the bag for 15 mins. Then added some of my water and let sit for 15 mins. I then netted them out.

My gourami was acclimated over an hour.