Can you have bottom feeders with gravel?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RightTurnClyde

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am new to the hobby and in the middle of cycling a 10 gallon tank. Right now my tank has a gravel substrate. Blue/green multicolored basic stuff from Petco. If I knew what I know now, I probably would have gone with sand, but for now, it's staying gravel.

Are there any corydoras or shrimp that would be OK with a rough, gravel bottom? It seems that every description of corys I read say that they should be in sand so they don't damage their barbels. And shrimp seem to like to sift through the sand as well. I like the idea of having a small, peaceful cleaning crew in there, once I can add more fish. And I'd rather not deal with snails.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

I am new to the hobby and in the middle of cycling a 10 gallon tank. Right now my tank has a gravel substrate. Blue/green multicolored basic stuff from Petco. If I knew what I know now, I probably would have gone with sand, but for now, it's staying gravel.

Are there any corydoras or shrimp that would be OK with a rough, gravel bottom? It seems that every description of corys I read say that they should be in sand so they don't damage their barbels. And shrimp seem to like to sift through the sand as well. I like the idea of having a small, peaceful cleaning crew in there, once I can add more fish. And I'd rather not deal with snails.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Is it rough gravel or the small rounded gravel? I have cories and shrimp with the small rounded gravel and they are all doing great.