Canister filter help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CTWebb

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I've got a 70 gallon freshwater tank that I've had set up for years. It was my parents and now I've inherited it. I've always used standard HOB filters but I'm looking into buying the SunSun 303B UV canister filter. I've never had any experience with these filters and the media is kind of confusing me.

Whats the best setup for the media? What order is best? How often should each type of media be changed or rinsed? This particular filter has 3 different trays for media. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated, as I am an absolute novice when it comes to this type of filtration.

Thank you!

There's 3 layers in this filter, I'd recommend the following (It's always in top to bottom order):
Tray 1:
Coarse Filter
Sponge Filter
Polishing Pad

Tray 2:
This depends, if you want to use anything like Purigen, Carbon etc put all that in here. Otherwise fill it with biomedia

Tray 3:
Bio media