Can't increase ammonia-level during cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Highstreet

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi aquarium-people,

I'm new to the aquarium-hobby and I recently bought my first aquarium. I'm currently trying to cycle it, but have a problem with the ammonia-levels.
If I understand correctly, as a first step the ammonia level should be increased to about 5 ppm. I'm using a pure 25% ammonia solution, and the JBL testkit.

I have been experimenting, but no matter how much ammonia I add, I can't get the level higher then around 0.2 - 0.4 ppm

Does anybody have I clue what I might be doing wrong?

Regards,

Highstreet

Hi aquarium-people,

I'm new to the aquarium-hobby and I recently bought my first aquarium. I'm currently trying to cycle it, but have a problem with the ammonia-levels.
If I understand correctly, as a first step the ammonia level should be increased to about 5 ppm. I'm using a pure 25% ammonia solution, and the JBL testkit.

I have been experimenting, but no matter how much ammonia I add, I can't get the level higher then around 0.2 - 0.4 ppm

Does anybody have I clue what I might be doing wrong?

Regards,

Highstreet
Hmmm. My preference is not to add ammonia. I add BioZyme or some bacterial additive to the water. This friendly bacteria helps to breakdown the ammonia. Then I let the water age for at least a month and then add a small amount of fish. Trust me, once fish are added the ammonia will present itself and then you have to do PWCs. I prefer planted tanks and becuse of that my ammonia is always 0. My problem is Nitrates. I perform PWCs 2 or 3 times a week. my $0.02 which is worth.....nothing.