Changing substrate in an established tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gsdsar

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, a friend has asked me to help her with her boring 30 gallon tank. She would like to change the substrate, as well as get some " pretty fish"

What is the safest way to change the substrate and keep the existing fish safe?
Will she have to recycle the tank with new substrate? any way to save some of the BB? She is concerned about losing fish( her 8 yo daughter made her professionally cremate the last one that died)

Right now she has a Pleco, 3 catfish, and "an orange a black striped fish that hides a lot". I plan in going over and actually seeing what is going on and what kind if fish they actually are, but that's what I know right now. That and it does not have a heater.

I am still a newbie myself, so any advice is appreciated.

Thank you

All tropical fish require a heater to keep them happy and in the correct temperature zone. Most tropical fish need temperatures between 70 and 80 degrees, depending on the type of fish. So investing in a heater would be a very good idea.

As for the substrate, you could change it one of two ways:

Take the fish out and pull the old substrate and put the new one in, then replace the fish,

or

Carefully take out the substrate, and add the new substrate with a small cup or something to the bottom of the tank.

Depending on what she wants to change it from and to, and how dirty or clean the substrate is, you would want to go one way or the other. If the substrate is rock, for example, there is bound to be debris under it that will get stirred up when it starts to get moved around

As for the BB in the tank, most of it is in the filter, so as long as the filter media stays wet, everything should be fine.