Clarifications on That Really Good Cycling Thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AlexSmargle

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,
I've read through the really nice articvle on fishless cycling by Mr. Ogilvie (Don't suppose he's related to ohGr, is he?) (this one here The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling - Aquarium Advice) but I have a few question. I read some of the associated thread too but, admittedly, not all 170+ pages of it so I apologize if it's been talked about before.
I was planning on setting up a tank for a betta fish, maybe an african dwarf frog, and maybe a snail or two. I am a relatively broke college student so I'm getting the equipement in stages while almost obsessively researching so I can be sure to take good care of any and all animals I may get. My equiptment list as it currently stands has a sponge filter and no bubble wand or air stone. I have read in many places that betta don't like currents because of their fins and haven't seen many (if any) lists of necessities that had a bubble wand or air stone. Step 7d in the article says to crank the bubble wand up or to lower water levels so the filter splashes (I'm assuming that is in reference to the HOB filters that have the little waterfall like things?) but I wasn't actually planning on having both.
Are they things I need absolutely that I have just overlooked? If not, will cycling work fine without them?
I will admit, I haven't done a full amount of research on the frogs (hence the maybe) so I don't yet know what they need.
Secondly, can a tank be overfiltered? Aquaadvisor or however that should be written said that every option I picked for filteration on my 10g tank was 200%+ filtered. Is that a problem?
Thanks for your help!