Cleaning filter cartridges?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FranTom

Aquarium Advice Regular
Here is my disclaimer - I'm new to this. Last August my BIL bought my 4 year old son a red cap fantail goldfish (which my son named "Tom") and a 15 gallon tank. He lived happily in that tank with bi-weekly water changes and a Marineland biowheel filter -- but the more I learned about him (and grew to really like the little guy!), the more I felt guilty about his small space. We also added an albino corydora (Rosie) and an otocinclus catfish (Emery). In the 15 gallon tank I changed the filter cartridges (not the biowheel, of course, just the carbon containing filter thing) every two weeks - following the instructions that came with the filter. The tank was always very clear and clean and Tom always seemed very happy and social.