cloudy newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ddodad

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I just purchased a 10 gallon starter kit, I followed the advice from the pet store. After doing some research they migt not of been correct I am not sure if i need to completely restart. I bought the cycle product and have followed the directions all was good for the first couple days. After the third and final startup dose the aquarium became cloudy. I called to speak to someone at the store they said it is because I have a large bubbler and its disolved air which does not make sence to me. Help please I am anxious to add fish already

Do you have a test kit? If not you should really invest in one. A good liquid kit, not strips. People here love API.

I'm assuming your plan is a fishless cycle by the sounds of it. I've never used these products before so I may not be a big help in this. My biggest suggestion is to get a test kit and start testing your water. See if you are getting any ammonia or nitrites and then you can go from there.

I'm not sure if this product is simply to detoxify ammonia/harmful water qualities or if it has some added bonus to cycling. To cycle your tank you need an ammonia source and again I'm not sure if this product provides that...

The cloudy water could be a bacteria bloom which is common in a cycle or it could be micro bubbles(tiny bubbles in the water that make it look cloudy). I'm not certain. Hopefully someone can come along who has experience with this product. I will refer you to the sticky threads at the top of the page, there is a ton of info of cycling, both fish in and fish less.

Unfortunately, pet shop advice is normally not all that all that reliable. Evidenced by the fact that they took advantage of someone new to the hobby and sold you bacteria in a bottle.