Cloudy Water Success

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rummy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to the hobby but seem to be having some success mostly attributing to reading books and to this site.

Recently, I ran into my first real issue. I had very cloudy water in my tank. I have a 55 Gallon FW tank with a moderate bio load (with a single Rena XP2 canister filter).

Recently, I noticed that my large driftwood had a lot of green algae on it and during a weekly water change, I decided to clean off the driftwood (without taking it out of the water) so I used a new toothbrush and brushed off most of the surface trying to suck up as much kicked up algae as I could.

Up until then, I had perfectly clear water. Within hours, my water was extremely cloudy. I let it run for a few days thinking that I just kicked up too much algae but it got worse and worse. I began a schedule of 50% water changes every other day which helped for a few hours but shortly after, the cloudy water was worse than before.

The water in the tank seemed a very milky white but when I emptied it in a white bucket, it seemed to have a very slight green tint. During this cloudy water phase, I consulted this site often and was never really sure if it was an algae bloom (suspected) or possibly a bacterial bloom.

During this entire time, the water parameters remained steady (pH=6.8; Ammonia=0, Nitrites=0, Nitrates=10-20). All the fish seemed to be fine as well.