Complete newb needs advice/help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Verdilak

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Okay. My kids got 3 comet/feeder goldfish at a japanese festival a week ago and our friend, who is very into fish, let us borrow a 10G tank with filters and everything, it was healthy and full right before she gave it to us, so that a big help.

Anyways, we decided to wait a week to see how the fish would fare because we knew how unlikely the feeder goldfish would survive, and two of them seemed to have ragged tail fins.

In the course of a week, the two who had ragged tail fins have died, leaving just the one.

So, suggestions. I have read that I should cycle, which I don't quite understand, but I have a fish that seems to be rather hardy. Should I wait to see if it dies like it's brethren, or should I start looking into getting a few more fish (pleco is a definite, my kids really loved the neons though I heard the minnows are really hardy though are not all that pretty... we would like some active fish).

Currently, the tank is a 10G (we have a 25G waiting for us when we want it, but are really wanting to just stick with the 10G to see how things go), it has a used filter (which I hear is good), polished rock gravel, a fake wood thing that my friend gave us along with the tank, and a ph/ammonia/temperature thing that's stuck to the inside of the tank.

We are going tomorrow or the next day to get a python for water changes, a few other things (like a sponge to help keep fish away from the intake of the filter and a bubble stone perhaps) and when we go, are going to get a few more fish (we promised the kids that since their fish died we would replace them with new ones, which they might just decide to want more feeder/comet goldfish).