Cyclig confusion

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bettafanatic

Aquarium Advice Addict
I've been cycling a 2.5 gal tank for about 6-7 weeks now. Everything was going well. I had lots of nitrites, a little nitrates, and a good supply of ammonia. One day ammonia was 0 (nitrites still high). I got distracted and forgot to add more ammonia. When I tested again five days later, all the nitrites and nitrates were gone. I added more ammonia and now the levels are 4 ppm ammonia and 0 nitrites. So did my bacteria colonies drop dead or something? How can i get them back? I've been cycling for two months now and my patience is running low. I cannot afford to start over again. Please help!

Did you change your water at all during the two months? Water loses its buffer capacity over time. You may need to change it every week during cycling to establish a colony.

No buffer = dead colony

The bacteria probably got "lazy" from not being fed for 5 days. I'm not sure how long it can go without feeding before it dies off completely. I'd suggest what Hholly did: do a 100% water change to restore minerals and buffers and then redose. Not dosing may have set the cycle back some but ti should bounce back pretty soon.

ALso for a 2.5 gal tank you can get away with just dosing ammonia up to 2, not 4. It's such a small tank and you won't be able to put much in there in the way of fish or anything anyway so the bioload will be low, 2 ppms of ammonia is more than sufficient.

ALso for a 2.5 gal tank you can get away with just dosing ammonia up to 2, not 4. It's such a small tank and you won't be able to put much in there in the way of fish or anything anyway so the bioload will be low, 2 ppms of ammonia is more than sufficient.

What is the rational behind lower concentrations just because it is a smaller tank?