Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2004, 10:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 890
Cycling??

Will adding an established filter with bio-wheel and a few aquaruim ornaments from a fully cycled tank into an uncycled tank instantly cycle it?

Will my readings be zero and my Nitrate on the charts?

TIA

Dan
__________________

__________________
Dan
FishLover14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 10:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to PK Tester Send a message via MSN to PK Tester Send a message via Yahoo to PK Tester
I know it wont INSTANTLY cycle but it could be within in a few days...TankGirl said hers was almost instant. I have never tried this before.
__________________

__________________
PK Tester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 12:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,061
Yes, you should get an instant cycle by putting just a well established filter in your tank, but with a bio-wheel too, you should have a definite cycled tank.

I only took the filtration system from my 10 gallon fry tank that was established (1 year) into my 26 gallon long tank and got an instant cycle.

BTW Dan, what are you going to do with the tank you are taking the bio-wheel from?
__________________
Regards,
Fawn
FawnN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 12:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 890
Probably just pack it up for a while i am going to move it to a differnt room that stays a more constant temp and manually cycle it, i will worry about that after i get the 29 for christmas, i will steal the filter off the 10

The tank has been cyled for about 3 months, but i am sure that it is cyled.

I have a Common PLeco in the 10gal that i have to get rid of, i could start a fish fertilizer bussiness with him.

I also have a blackfinned catfish that gets 12" that i will have to get rid off.

And a Gold severum which my lfs did not infrom me that he got big till after i purchased him.

All the fish are under 3inches apecie,

Probably once i get it taken down ad reassembled by about July of next year, put a few tetras in it.

Dan
__________________
Dan
FishLover14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 01:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 641
Send a message via Yahoo to Pufferpunk
That's how I upgrade all my tanks. Just don't stock too many fish at 1st. It can support the same mass of fish (or maybe a few less, if you don't move the gravel) as the tank you took the stuff from.
__________________
The Puffer Forum
http://www.thepufferforum.org/

Pufferpunk's Tanks
http://wetwebfotos.com/Home?actionRe...ew&userID=1918
Pufferpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 02:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 890
I will take some sand from the cycledd tank then ( i do sand not gravel)

Dan
__________________
Dan
FishLover14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 02:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Central Iowa
Posts: 267
Send a message via MSN to jacktheknife
i just set up a new 10 gallon aquarium last night. i've been planning this for the past couple of weeks but didnt have the tank itself until a couple of days ago and didnt get the fish until last night.
so two weeks ago i put the smaller filter on my 38 gallon tank, in addition to the one i was already running, to allow the filter to cycle and develop bacteria. 3 days ago when i got the tank, i drew about 8 gallons of water off of my 38 gallon tank and put it in the 10 gallon tank. unfortanately i didnt have the gravel yet. i added the last two gallons of water and placed the filter on the tank and allowed it to cycle until yesterday when i place the gravel and then later most of the fish (all but the neons) into the 10 gallon. i moved some large decorative rocks from the 38 gallon into the 10.
it seems as though i have a near instant cycle at this point, but i wont know for sure for a couple of days. until then i am keeping the neons outta there.
__________________
"You ask me why I dwell in the green mountain;
I smile and make no reply for my heart is free of care.
As the peach blossom which flows downstream and is gone into the unknown,
I have a world apart that is not among men."

-Li Po
jacktheknife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 02:46 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 890
Yeah mine should work out pretty good maybe.... i am goin to make sure it is cycled before adding anything.

Dan
__________________
Dan
FishLover14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 05:08 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 641
Send a message via Yahoo to Pufferpunk
If you don't add something ammonia-producing (either by fish or ammonia itself), the tank will become uncycled. A good test to see if it's cycled, would be to add ammonia to a level of 5 & see if it is gone the next day.
__________________
The Puffer Forum
http://www.thepufferforum.org/

Pufferpunk's Tanks
http://wetwebfotos.com/Home?actionRe...ew&userID=1918
Pufferpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 06:05 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 890
Okay I will keep that in mind!

Dan

P.S. Can you use fish food to produce ammonio. Will it totally dissolve?
__________________

__________________
Dan
FishLover14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycling? shanklyred Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 22 01-29-2009 05:50 PM
it's cycling!! FloridaNewbie Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 11-12-2006 09:07 AM
do water changes delay cycling? will it make cycling LONGER? Bubble_Boy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-09-2004 12:17 PM
Confused About Cycling--Am I re-cycling? Why? hummingbird114 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 08-13-2004 05:09 PM
More about cycling.... ClamKnuckle Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 05-19-2004 03:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.