Cycling my 2.5 gal tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Meagan.Marie

Aquarium Advice Activist
Okay its a mini bow 2.5 kit.

I don't know where to begin

It comes in on Tuesday and since the cycle takes a while I would like to get started right away

The only fish I plan on putting in there are my bettas Merlin And Harry potter

I will be getting 2 2.5 gal kits since they are both males. Haha I am smart enough to know not to put them in the same tank.

What should I buy

Should I cycle with my fish or without it.

This is my first cycling experience. Also my tap water is not safe. Should I just use bottled spring water? I do treat my water with a conditioner and I put a tad bit of aquarium salt in it.

Please help me I am a noob and this is my first aquatic adventure. I have never had fish before.

Kit came with a hood the light and the filter. I am purchasing the heater from an LFS.

I have read the cycling for dummies, my problem is it didnt give specifics. and I feel as though it was advised for bigger tanks.

Well since it's a small tank, the food method would work well. Just drop some fish flakes in there and monitor the results. You have a liquid test kit right? Wait until you have nitrates, and no nitrites/ammonia and you are done.

--Adeeb

I am picking up a test kit as well. I was wondering if tetra safe start would work as well to help speed it up. And should I use the gravel from my fish bowls right now? would that help?

The gravel would help. It's a hit or miss with the safestart. Some people say it works, and some don't. I wouldn't waste my money on It.

--Adeeb

I agree--the gravel could potentially speed the cycle. Just make sure you are still seeding the tank with some form of ammonia, or the bacteria in the gravel will not survive.