Cycling my new 10g tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JohnM

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi Everyone...newbie here.

First off, great site! I'm sure it will be a great resource as my family grows into this hobby.

I have a new 10g tank, set up a couple of weeks before Christmas. I ran the tank for about a week without any swimmers, then added 3 platys. I have been monitoring the tank temperature (72 degrees), pH (7.8), ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels diligently. The recommended concentration of aquarium salt for the livebearers has been added. After making a few newbie errors (overfeeding :oops: , no heater to begin with), things seem to be stable, except for the ammonia levels rising about 0.25-0.50 ppm per day. Nitrite levels nowhere to be seen yet. I am changing about 2.5g of water every couple of days to keep the NH3 down, vacuuming the gravel periodically and occasionally doing a larger exchange (5g).

Other treatments used for the tank are Tetra AquaSafe for the de-chloride/chloramine, and AP Stress Zyme to boost the good bacteria count.

I just need some reassurance that I am not missing something and that my patience will eventually pay off! Oh ya, no live plants for now (one step at a time) and I have been able to keep the kids at bay for more fish (teaching them about compatible species and the Nitrogen cycle first).

Sounds like you are on top of it. Just keep changing water to keep ammonia and nitrites below 1.0. You should not vacuum the gravel to much when you are cycling, the bacteria will grow on the gravel as well as the filter media.

Welcome to AA!!!!! and kudos to your for obviously doing you research.