Dechlorinator

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

winstonsmith84

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So when adding the dechlorinator to tap water, it's safe to do it in the bucket then pour directly into the tank correct? Or is there a certain amount of time involved before pouring it in.

Total newb here but I'm pretty sure it's ok as long as not poured directly onto tank. I'm using a bucket specifically for water changes that's never touched anything else and I put a few drops of it per gallon (as specified) when I make a wc. Is more or less advised? I've seen posts where they say put double the recommended amount in. Anyone have an opinion?

Thanks.

You can actually add it directly to the tank if you want. The way I do my water changes, I remove x amount of water, pour in the appropriate amount of dechlorinator, swish it around for one or two seconds, and then refill the tank.

What conditioner are you using? Prime only requires 2 drops per gallon and can be safely dosed up to 5 times the recommended amount in an emergency. It's one of only two products on the market that safely binds ammonia and nitrite for up to 48 hours, making them harmless to fish.

I ha used some prime cause my ammonia levels were really high. I've been doing a ton of wc's and have gotten ammonia down to a .5. Doin one more tonight to see if I can decrease to a .25.

I'm using in my bucket before I pour water in, API tap water conditioner. About 2 drops per gallon. Just wanted to check I was on the right path or should use more or less drops.

Thanks for helping. New tank cycling with fish in and trying to do the right thing.

Sorry, not sure I understood. :) Are you using both Prime and API water conditioner? Feel free to ask any and all questions. I was brand new at fish just eight months ago and everyone was really nice helping me learn the ropes. :)