Depressed Betta

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishieMomma

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm a teacher who had a 5 gal hexagon tank in my nursery classroom. "Blueberry" loved the activity and noise! Now that the school year is through he is home with me in my much quieter house. He's acting depressed. He hangs around on the floor of the tank but gets active if someone comes to talk to him. The water chemistry is good. Can I add some tiny nano fish for company?

Maybe someone w/ lots of kids can borrow him for the summer! He'd have FUN here!! Ha ha... I'm j/k. You'd miss him. As for fish w/ him, it's hit or miss. I'm going to try to my Betta in my community tank, you just gotta watch him for aggressiveness & the other fish could nip his fins. IDK about what you can squeeze in a 5gal w/ him b/c there's not much room. Maybe snails?? Somebody will chime in. Good luck w/ your tank!

jen31972 said:
I'm a teacher who had a 5 gal hexagon tank in my nursery classroom. "Blueberry" loved the activity and noise! Now that the school year is through he is home with me in my much quieter house. He's acting depressed. He hangs around on the floor of the tank but gets active if someone comes to talk to him. The water chemistry is good. Can I add some tiny nano fish for company?

Maybe try some ghost shrimp?

Maybe some African dwarf frogs. When you take it back to your class in the fall the kids will LOVE those too. I suggest 2 adf! I have a divided 10g, each side has a betta and 2 frogs.

I hadn't thought of frogs. I'll research them. Thanks for the suggestion.

Does he have a heater? Bettas don't get lonely.
Also what are you using to test? What are the results? Does the filter appear to be knocking him about?

Last edited: