Do I need an airstone?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mottoman216

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, just finished cycling my 55g community tank and bought my first batch of fish. 6 Cory cats. Plan on going with 12-15 cories, 25 neon tetras and possibly a pair or 2 of dwarf gouramis by the time I am done adding them in small batches over time.

Question: I am using x2 fluval aquaclear HOB filters. Will that be enough water displacement to avoid getting an airstone? They seem to move A lot of water. I hate the sight of airstones and want to avoid getting one if possible. Let me know what you guys/gals think?

Fyi - this is my first time in the hobby so I'm pretty excited but I want to be sure nothing will die.

Imo would be ok - as long as the water surface is being moved (even slowly) so as to promote air exchange and stop biofilm forming on top of water.

Hello Motto...

A couple of things: Gouramis are aggressive fish. Tetras are small. Not a good combination. As for air stones, they add oxygen to the tank and drive off CO2. So, this is a good situation for fish, but not for aquatic plants. If you're an aggressive water changer and remove and replace at least half the tank weekly, you don't need an air stone. The large, frequent water changes will keep a good level of oxygen in the tank water.

B

Hello Motto...

A couple of things: Gouramis are aggressive fish. Tetras are small. Not a good combination. As for air stones, they add oxygen to the tank and drive off CO2. So, this is a good situation for fish, but not for aquatic plants. If you're an aggressive water changer and remove and replace at least half the tank weekly, you don't need an air stone. The large, frequent water changes will keep a good level of oxygen in the tank water.

B