Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-19-2008, 06:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
new2betas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,140
Question Do you QT fish for newly cycled tank?

Another newbie question.....my 10 gallon is getting close to being cycled (I checked my nitrites and ammonia this morning and both are lowering quickly after nitrites being high yesterday). Anyway - I have been reading SO much on here and truly learning a lot, but things do get confusing at times. I was just reading some of the nightmares in the "worst thing happened to you" thread and I want to try to prevent any disasters from happening to my new tank that I have been SO patient with! First off....the whole reason I got this new tank was so I could move over my betta to it and get him out of this little 2 gallon tank. Then, of course, I started researching possible tank mates for him. Some of the fish I am looking at (reticulated cory, skunk cory) are not sold locally that I can find. Is it recommended to get new fish online? I went to aqaubid yesterday and found some of these and they say that they are QT for three weeks. So, does that mean they could go straight to my new tank or I would have to also QT them? If I get something from a lfs is it okay to QT them in the new tank without the betta added yet? Once my tank had cycled, I REALLY wanted to move my betta over to it immediately. But, I am so scared of putting him in the tank first and then introducing new fish that could possibly kill him with some sort of fungus or disease. My 10 gallon is the biggest I have right now. I don't have and really can't invest in another 10 gallon right now just for a QT tank. I have two smaller 2 gallon tanks (that bettas are in currently). Is there anything else I could safely use as a QT tank? I know this has been long and I appreciate any that have read this far. I am just so scared of buying some new fish and then seeing them all die of something, or worse, my betta getting sick from something newly acquired....
__________________

__________________
Dottie - I'm Pisces - that explains EVERYTHING! :p
new2betas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 08:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SpeedEuphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BCM
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by new2betas View Post
I went to aqaubid yesterday and found some of these and they say that they are QT for three weeks. So, does that mean they could go straight to my new tank or I would have to also QT them? I

f I get something from a lfs is it okay to QT them in the new tank without the betta added yet?
Well that depends on if you trust the seller. Meaning how sure are you that they actually do what they say? I'm sure many on here tend to question everything, especially if they had fish get sick or die from not QT'ing new fish before. Also it depends on how worried you are about possibly loosing your fish, like if its a large tank with many fish in it, or just like yours with one fish. So I'm sure many on here would QT the fish from aquabid or anywhere else even though they state they have already been QT'd. Only if they knew/talked with the person or bought fish from them multiple times would these diehards actually not QT new fish since they trust the seller.

Normally the OT is meant to be a meaningless tank, so if there is an issue, nothing is really tampered with except that fish/tank. So it can easily be sterilized if an issue occurred.

So I dont think using your new large tank is a good QT tank. Your best using one of the 2G tanks.

Now having said that, if the fish you get need a heater/filter and you dont have one then?? So personally since I'm new, I dont have provisions for this setup, I have cheap fish(guppy) that are easily and locally replaceable, so for me its easier to just put them in the tank, and I trust my LFS, even though they prob only have the fish I bought for 1 week or so before I got them. So I'm a little too optimistic that it should be OK, but I dont have any other feasible options and I have not been burnt (yet). Also at this point I'm done adding fish to mine, just waiting on some RCS shrimp, and from what I read disease/parasites from shrimp dont effect fish.

So what would I do?
Well in your case if you dont have a heater for the 2 gallon, then I think the best thing to do is to put the new fish in the large tank(as long as the new fish neads a heater). So if it dies, then you can sterilize that tank and start over. Or if your a little brave even put the betta in with the new fish in the large tank, unless you absolutely do Not want to lose the betta.
__________________

__________________
10G,Planted- Endler's Livebearers+RCS, 55G,planted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Understanding the basics will let you make informed decisions on what advice to follow, and what advice is just plain hooey!
SpeedEuphoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 09:30 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
new2betas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedEuphoria View Post
So what would I do?
Well in your case if you dont have a heater for the 2 gallon, then I think the best thing to do is to put the new fish in the large tank(as long as the new fish neads a heater). So if it dies, then you can sterilize that tank and start over. Or if your a little brave even put the betta in with the new fish in the large tank, unless you absolutely do Not want to lose the betta.
I did just buy a preset small heater for my 2 gallon, but my water temp in my 2 gallon stays steady at 78 degrees, so many of the fish I am looking at would be fine in the two gallon without a heater. I am not sure if I am brave enough to put my betta in with the new fish because I would hate to lose him. I have had him a few months now and, thanks to help from this forum, pulled him through a bout of internal parasites. And, the fact that I bought the 10 gallon for him in the first place. I just would hate to lose him because I introduced new fish around him and they got him sick. So, I guess I will do the more conservative approach and put him in the new tank first and get fish slowly that I can put in the 2 gallon tank as a QT tank. Okay, that settled.....would the 2 gallon only be appropriate for QT'ing one fish at a time or could I possibly do two? Also, after I take my betta out of the 2 gallon should I just leave everything in there as is....the plants, cave, gravel, water? so, anything going into it as a QT tank has a biological filter already in place??? Sorry for all of these seemingly silly questions...I am just adamant on doing it the best way for my fish.
Thanks!
__________________
Dottie - I'm Pisces - that explains EVERYTHING! :p
new2betas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 09:31 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I learned the hard way that you need to QT all new arrivals. We bought three African Cichlids from the lfs that we have always trusted. Brought them home and acclimated. That night we had a dead fish, one of the new arrivals. The next day we had two. The day after that another one. It didn't stop until we had roughly 10 dead full grown African Cichlids. Since then we have QTd every new fish.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 10:36 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Ideally you should QT every new fish reguardless of the source. Through bagging, transportation, etc the fish becomes stressed and more prone to disease even if it was healthy beforehand. By placing it in QT for at least 4-6 weeks you are ensure that it hasn't been stressed to the point of becoming sick.

You're QT doesn't have to be an aquarium. You can use a 5 gallon bucket or a Rubbermaid container reserved for aquarium use only. Add a sponge filter and a heater, and you've got a QT. Also make sure to provide some decor for the fish to shelter in. Plastic plants, ceramic pots, etc.

That being said, I generally don't QT my fish. Reason being that my aquariums are so small that usually the fish being added are going to be the only occupants of the aquarium so they are the first ones in. I still have a 5 gallon bucket available with heater and sponge filter should I ever need it for QT or a Hospital Aquarium.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 10:43 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
new2betas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Purrbox View Post
You're QT doesn't have to be an aquarium. You can use a 5 gallon bucket or a Rubbermaid container reserved for aquarium use only. Add a sponge filter and a heater, and you've got a QT. Also make sure to provide some decor for the fish to shelter in. Plastic plants, ceramic pots, etc.
So, I should be okay using my 2 gallon as my QT tank? And, can I only buy one fish at a time, QT it for 4-6 weeks, then add it to new tank, etc. ? I really don't want many fish in my tank since it is only 10 gallons. Would a few cories and maybe a couple of danios or a couple of white clouds be too much? I am sort of interested in shrimp also.....hmmmm......

Also, again, if I use my already set up and cycled 2 gallon tank for my QT tank then the decor should stay as it is already a set up biofilter, yes?
__________________
Dottie - I'm Pisces - that explains EVERYTHING! :p
new2betas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 10:54 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Your 2 gallon would be fine as a QT as long as it's big enough for the fish that you need to house in it temporarily. Keep in mind that if it doesn't have a source of ammonia, the biofilter will slowly die off. Once your betta is moved to the main aquarium, if you don't pick up the new fish within about 24 hours you'll need to add an ammonia source to the 2 gallon to keep it cycled until you add the QT fish. Also most of the beneficial bacteria will be in the filter, so it shouldn't matter to much if you move some of the decor (as long as you are removing a ton of decorations all at once).

Personally I wouldn't add Zebra Danios to a 10 gallon aquarium. They are much too active for that size aquarium. White clouds prefer cooler temperatures and would be better off in an unheated aquarium. I would just get a small school of cories, preferably dwarf cories for that size aquarium. While I know that it's tempting to try get lots of variety in a 10 gallon aquarium, I find that fish (especially schooling fish) are much more interesting in a larger group of their own kind.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 10:57 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
new2betas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Purrbox View Post
Personally I wouldn't add Zebra Danios to a 10 gallon aquarium. They are much too active for that size aquarium. White clouds prefer cooler temperatures and would be better off in an unheated aquarium. I would just get a small school of cories, preferably dwarf cories for that size aquarium. While I know that it's tempting to try get lots of variety in a 10 gallon aquarium, I find that fish (especially schooling fish) are much more interesting in a larger group of their own kind.
Thanks for the advice, Joy. I do like the dwarf cories also...but my lfs doesn't carry them. Could I ask them to get some or should I order some online (although shipping prices online are outrageous!!)
__________________
Dottie - I'm Pisces - that explains EVERYTHING! :p
new2betas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 11:07 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SEPA
Posts: 88
I have 2 quarintine tanks. 1 2.5 gallon and 1 10 gallon. I currently have my crayfish in the 10 gallon though because im starting completely over in my 55 gal and it just got cycling and im buying fish online and they come drugged so i dont want him having an easy meal with a new fish that is drugged.
__________________
Retaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 11:08 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SpeedEuphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BCM
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Purrbox View Post
Also most of the beneficial bacteria will be in the filter.

Personally I wouldn't add Zebra Danios to a 10 gallon aquarium. They are much too active for that size aquarium. White clouds prefer cooler temperatures and would be better off in an unheated aquarium. I would just get a small school of cories, preferably dwarf cories for that size aquarium. While I know that it's tempting to try get lots of variety in a 10 gallon aquarium, I find that fish (especially schooling fish) are much more interesting in a larger group of their own kind.
Awesome advise, This 1st part is what I'm saying in the other thread

I looked into Danios for my 10G and was told on another great site that they need a 20G for more space to swim even though they are small. I looked into most of the fish you mention, the smallest Cories that I could find locally were Panda Corries, think they are like 1.5" adults, try to get 3-4, they are interesting and fun to watch, may want to look into those. Since I bought Guppy's they breed like crazy so I went for shrimp instead. Started with Ghost shrimp just to try it, but many times they dont live long(mine died after 2months), now waiting on Cherry Shrimp.
__________________

__________________
10G,Planted- Endler's Livebearers+RCS, 55G,planted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Understanding the basics will let you make informed decisions on what advice to follow, and what advice is just plain hooey!
SpeedEuphoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Out the Filter in a Newly Cycled Tank Twoapennything Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-18-2010 09:53 AM
Newly cycled tank. changing substrate krazeeboy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 05-20-2009 07:33 AM
Newly cycled tank spence0416 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-13-2005 05:10 PM
Phosphates in a Newly Cycled Tank...Where did it come from?? WhiteCloud Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-26-2005 10:49 AM
Newly cycled tank: Is it better to add...... jaysono Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 05-31-2004 01:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.