Dwarf Gourami tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

deb_unlimited

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm just getting started with fish. You can see my initial post on the intro forum...:lol: I plan to have 2 betta tanks, 10 gallons each and one Dwarf Gourami tank of 30 gallons. I've been doing lots of reading, researching online, talking to the LFS and here's where I am:

Purchased a 30 gallon high bowfront tank from Craig's List w/stand
I'm adding:
Quad light 96 watts T5
Aquaclear 70 gallon filter (with peat)
Sand substrate with Eco-Complete for planted aquarium
Assorted resin and driftwood ornamentation plus some rock

I'm thinking 5 Dwarf Gouramis, 2 male, 3 female. What would do well with them in a tall tank? What scavengers would do well in their setting (temp, pH, etc.) Would shrimp survive? What smaller, perhaps schooling fish could I use or do they all need a long tank? How do you use peat in a filter? Do you not use charcoal then?

I'm just getting started with fish. You can see my initial post on the intro forum...:lol: I plan to have 2 betta tanks, 10 gallons each and one Dwarf Gourami tank of 30 gallons. I've been doing lots of reading, researching online, talking to the LFS and here's where I am:

Purchased a 30 gallon high bowfront tank from Craig's List w/stand
I'm adding:
Quad light 96 watts T5
Aquaclear 70 gallon filter (with peat)
Sand substrate with Eco-Complete for planted aquarium
Assorted resin and driftwood ornamentation plus some rock

I'm thinking 5 Dwarf Gouramis, 2 male, 3 female. What would do well with them in a tall tank? What scavengers would do well in their setting (temp, pH, etc.) Would shrimp survive? What smaller, perhaps schooling fish could I use or do they all need a long tank? How do you use peat in a filter? Do you not use charcoal then?