Dwarf Gouramis?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SakranMM

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've never kept these before. I've had a couple of years of experience, on and off, with tropical freshwater fish, mostly livebearers. I just got back into the hobby after a couple years off, and I've currently got a 10G with 5 small corys in it. It's still cycling, and I'm debating what to put in there after it finishes. I've thought about livebearers or neons, but I absolutely love the way gouramis look. I was thinking maybe 2 gouramis in addition to the 5 corys that are already in there.

Are the dwarf gouramis hardy fish? What are the typical requirements for them? Anything you can contribute is appreciated.

In Christ,

Michael

I've currently got a 10G with 5 small corys in it. It's still cycling,
:shocked!::eek2::zip: fish-less cycle is much more humane
Are the dwarf gouramis hardy fish? What are the typical requirements for them? Anything you can contribute is appreciated.
i have never had good luck with them (had one, it died, replaced it and that one died too all in the span of about a month) i would only put two in a 10 if you can get a male and a female, i think two males or two females would fight.

Thanks. I didn't want to cycle with the corys at first; I had them in a 5G with my betta, but he was stressed, so I moved them to the 10G just after I set it up. I like them, and want to keep them alive, so I'll be doing water changes at least every other day (if not everyday) to keep the cycle side-effects to a minimum on the fish.