Eclipse System 12 Stocking Ideas?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Phonemonkey

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all, I recently purchased an eclipse system 12 (12 gallon kit with bio-wheel filter) and supplies to go along with it. I was just wondering if people could offer up some stocking combination suggestions? Keep in mind I'm a beginner at this, but have done and continue to do all the learning I can in order to do this properly. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Heres a brief list of species I've been considering, would love some advice on which combinations would be best:

Larger Species (would only get 1):
-Dwarf Gourami
-Platies
-Bettas
-Guppies
-Corydoras

Small Species (would get at least 6):
-White Clouds
-Neon Tetras
-Cherry Barbs

I would get:

1 - Dwarf Gourami
or/an
1 - Male Betta
also
6 - Neon Tetras
1 - Cory

This combo will provide LOTS of color for your tank...

Keep in mind the more fish you have the more PWC you'll need to make and the better filtration you should have.

Thanks for the suggestion, thats actually pretty much exactly what I was thinking of getting. I'm definitely planning on doing weekly PWC, and the eclipse filter is supposed to be one of the best out there (3 stage with bio-wheel).

I've always been a fan of cherry barbs. If this is your first time keeping fish, they're generally hardy as are the white clouds (although not quite as pretty IMO). Some people find neons to be less hardy though I've never had a problem with them.

Corys I love...but that single one is likely to be lonely...they're much more active and playful with at least 3. You could probably have 3 if you stuck to dwarf ones.

Either the dwarf gourami or betta would be a great centerpiece.

fish 'n' fries said: