Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-17-2011, 11:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
picture_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 734
Filter question during cycling

So I just got my AquaClear filter in the mail.
It's going to go on my 20 gallon which is near the end of a fishless cycle. How would I go about doing that and do I leave the old filter in.
Also I'm going to use the filter that's currently on the 20 gallon in a new 10 gallon that I just got.
What's the best plan for this switch around?
__________________

__________________
picture_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 11:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nubster's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Romney, WV
Posts: 173
You can run both filters at the same time for a couple weeks or you can take the media from the old filter and add it to the new filter and media for a couple weeks to give the new media time to seed.
__________________

__________________
Nubster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 11:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
picture_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 734
Would I be able to..
Add the filter that's currently in the 20 gallon into the new 10 gallon, put the new AquaClear filter in the 20 and use media from the old filter? Would this mess up the cycle in any way?
__________________
picture_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 12:29 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Run your new filter on your 20 along with the filter that is on the 20 now for a few weeks. The new filter will be colonized with bacteria. Then take the original filter and put it on your new tank. When you make the switch, test both tanks for ammonia and nitrite for a few days just to be sure there is no spikes. A lot of people pre-colonize filters for future use.
__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intro and filter question DE_BO Cichlid Discussion 1 09-17-2011 12:24 AM
New tank cycling question. tjmortenson Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-16-2011 05:54 PM
50 gallon canister filter question sobersteve323 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-12-2011 03:12 PM
Another cycling question.. phishfood Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-11-2011 02:33 PM
filter cleaning question mollymama Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 06-24-2011 03:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.