First Tank a 10 Gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tomasm87

Aquarium Advice Activist
Im new to having an aquarium and im starting with a 10 gallon. Im planning on keeping 2 dalmatian mollies or 4-5 Zebra danios to start with. my plan is if they do well for the next 3-4 month ill upgrade to a 30 to 50 gallon. Depending on how much space i have.

So my first question is, will 2 mollies or 5 danios be fine in a 10 gallon? im also considering an algae cleaner. i love plecos but i know i cant keep any in a 10 gallon so ill wait till i get a bigger tank. so its either between a Mystery snail or glass shrimp. Which is the better cleaner of algae and of leftover fish food? which is more entertaining to watch? which is more hardy(easier to keep alive)? and how many can i keep along with my Mollies or danios?

with these fish in my tank what is the upkeep on my tank? will i have to do a partial water change ever week?

my ammonia is 0, nitrate 0, nitrite 0, hardness soft about 25, alkalinity 180, and PH is 7.8.