Fish for a 19l/5 gallon Fluval Chi

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

marbella93

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone!

I just got a Fluval Chi tank (so gorgeous). It's 19l/5 gallons and I have one live plant and one ornament inside.
I went to the local fish shop today, told them about the tank and left with one betta, 3 rummy nose tetras and 2 african dwarf frogs.
The woman in the shop seemed to really know what she was talking about as she has the tank herself and said they would be ok together because they will be at different levels in the tank etc..
After doing some reading online, it seems I may have overstocked?
They are all very small (I will obviously get a larger tank as they grow).. Will they be ok together?
I've only had them in for a few hours and they all seem pretty happy together..
I am a complete beginner though so want to make sure I'm doing the right thing.. I will obviously take some back if that is what's right..
Please don't shout at me haha

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_0065.jpg
    IMG_0065.jpg
    143 KB · Views: 82
  • IMG_0061.jpg
    IMG_0061.jpg
    164.5 KB · Views: 83
  • IMG_0067.jpg
    IMG_0067.jpg
    136.2 KB · Views: 77
That is to small for rummies. They need to be in groups of 6 or more, and are too active for a 5 gal tank. There also isn't enough space in a 5 gal tank for a shoal of them. I would take them back to the store.

As for the frog, I can't say anything about them, as I've never had one. Though it may get bullied by the beta.(which will do great in there)

Fishobsessed7

Money Can't Buy Happiness, But It Can Buy Fish Which Is Pretty Much The Same Thing