Fish in cycle?? Don't shoot me :\

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bitsy1603

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,
Ok, so please don't berate me for the things I've done wrong. I'm new to this malarkey and thought that API QuickStart would work... Now I'm not so sure.

I set up a 98 litre (25US gallon) tank 4 days ago. Plastic plants.
GetAttachment.aspx

I used Tetra AquaSafe to dechlorinate the water and API QuickStart to add the nitrates and deal with the Ammonia... or so I thought!

I ran the filter for 24 hours. On Day 2 I added a bit more QuickStart. I thought the tanks was cycled as I liquid tested Ammonia and got 0.25ppm which I felt was very low and could be due to the QuickStart suspension right?! I used test strips (I know! Another mistake...) to determine the hardness, pH and Nitrite/Nitrate readings.

Day 2 parameters looked like this:
Ammonia 0.25ppm
GH 60
KH 80
pH 6-6.5
Nitrite 0-0.5ppm
Nitrate 20ppm

I thought this looked great and added 6 Zebra Danios. Two of them were very skinny and lethargic from the start, One of those died overnight (found Day 3 am). I thought this could just be if he was stressed by the move etc. Then today the other little one died. I noticed his gills were very red (ammonia poisoning I thought, having read a little...) and so did some more research on here which led me to buy liquid tests for the other parameters to be more accurate!

The most amazing difference to me was the pH reading!! I now know this could make the 0.25ppm ammonia more deadly?!

Day 4 parameters (photo included - from Right to Left)
Ammonia 0.25ppm
pH 7.6+
Nitrite 0-0.25ppm
Nitrate 0-5ppm

GetAttachment.aspx

The ammonia hasn't budged, Nitrates and Nitrites don't look unhealthy but just in case, I did a 30% water change and added Tetra AquaSafe (no QuickStart this time).