Fish-in Cycling Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Manic Fury

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am relatively new to this hobby and have gone through a long learning process with my buddy, Pontus (fancy fintail goldfish).

Some of you may have seen my past threads about Pontus, but if you haven't, you can go can go back to see the hell I went through to get Pontus to his happy, healthy state that he's in.

(Just want to say, to those of you who have helped me, I really really appreciate everything you have done to make sure I have a healthy fish. You guys are awesome people and are what makes this site the place that it is now!)

:thanks:

Now, to the point of this thread :)

I just received a 10 gallon aquarium today from Petsmart. (Picture included)

Here's what I got:

-Tetra 10 gallon tank w/hood and light
-Tetra EX 45 Power Filter (I decided to get the big one because I can use this one in my 30 gallon. Plus, there's no such thing as too much filter! )
-A few decorations
-Melafix
-Medium sized airstone
-Air pump

Is there anything else that I need? Is there anything that I shouldn't include?

I didn't get any gravel because I couldn't find any that looked appealing or that were in my price range. Should I be using gravel in the very beginning, or can it wait until I find some that I am willing to buy?

I'm going to rinse out the tank and decorations and fill my tank up and get everything going for a 24 hour leak test. I'm going to test my pH and ammonia levels in my regular tap water tonight. And tomorrow after the leak test I will test again to get my true pH and ammonia content to know where my true pH and Ammo are at so I know how to dose my dechlorinator.

Since I am doing a fish-in cycle, is there anything that I need to do before I add my fish to the tank?