fishless cycle so far

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rubyjess

Aquarium Advice Regular
this is how my cycle s going so far
been up and running for about2 weeks now had a few problems with heater but all sorted now
after finally getting some pure ammonia last week have started testing
with a new api test kit seems to be the best one to use
yesterday my ammonia was 1.0 ppm,nitrites were 5.0 + ppm
nitrate 80ppm ,ph 8.0
dosed up ammonia to 4.0 ppm
tested again just now results were
ammonia 1.0 ppm
nitrite 5.0 + ppm
nitrate 5.0 ppm
ph 8.0
now gonna dose ammonia back up to 4.0 ppm
am i on the right track ?
cheers

been up and running for about2 weeks now had a few problems with heater but all sorted now
nitrate 80ppm ,ph 8.0
ammonia 1.0 ppm
nitrite 5.0 + ppm
nitrate 5.0 ppm
ph 8.0
cheers

Hi! I've just started a fishless cycle too and I'm pretty new at it still but I'd say yes you are on the right track. If you're moving 3ppms of ammo in 24 hours I'd say that's good progress. But again I'm new at this so I'm sure someone else will come along and let you know for sure. Good luck!

rubyjess said:
nitrate 80ppm ,ph 8.0
ammonia 1.0 ppm
nitrite 5.0 + ppm
nitrate 5.0 ppm
ph 8.0
cheers

Yes u are on the right track.

Looks fantastic! Have you checked out the guide in my signature? It's coming up on the time to do a 50% mid-cycle pwc. Good job!

cheers eco,
i have referred to your guide alot but like to double check,i take i when my nitrates rocket up its then time to do a 50% water change ?
cheers

rubyjess said:
cheers eco,
i have referred to your guide alot but like to double check,i take i when my nitrates rocket up its then time to do a 50% water change ?
cheers