Fishless Cycling Help Please!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jjong4590

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello people!

This is my first time joining a forum like this and this is my very first post. First off, just want to say thanks to everyone who posted useful info on here. I have learned a lot!

Anyways, I have started my fishless cycling on a 29 gallon freshwater planted aquarium on January 10th, 2014. I have been using Ace's Hardware Ammonia and been dosing roughly around 4 ppm.

About a week later, my ammonia dropped to 0 and saw a nitrite spike later on. But here is the tricky part...I remember measuring my nitrates also when I saw a nitrite spike and I saw some nitrates also, but at low levels. I thought this was due to rotting plants in my aquarium..but I am not sure. I didn't think much of it and I kept dosing my ammonia at 4ppm until last week, where i started to dose around 1-2 ppm.

Now..my nitrites are 5+ppm, not sure how high they are and my nitrates are pretty high (can't tell if they are 80 ppm or 160 ppm; using API Liquid Test Kit).

I have been reading that my cycling might almost be finished, but then, I read elsewhere that I should do water changes so I can get my nitrite levels low. I read water changes might slow down my cycling and I also read that just let it go and keep dosing the ammonia until my nitrites level go to 0.

I don't know what to do..I'm don't want my cycle to be stalled or anything. I'm debating to do water changes or not. Any help will be greatly, GREATLY appreciated!

Sorry for the very long post, but thanks for the help!!

P.S. If this helps, I have brown algae EVERYWHERE IN MY TANK

Couple of things... I am not too familiar with the fishless since I have always done a fish in cycle but two weeks seems a little too fast for any cycle to finish starting from scratch.