Fishless Cycling Status

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SSGWJ

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
This is my first attempt at fishless cycling... started 2 days ago on a 29G. My middle son had two fancy guppies in a 5 gallon tank (fully cycled for some time)... well they both died (of ich, I think). Since we won't be replacing the fish right away, I took about 3 cups of the gravel and put it in pantyhose for use in helping the 29G cycle. I also put the filter media inside my Fluval U3 internal for use in the 29 G. My initial water parameters before dosing ammonia were Ammonia 0.5 (don't quite understand this as my tap water reads 0PPM), N02 0.25, Nitrate 5.0, PH 8.3, Temp 78F. On Thursday I dosed the ammonia to 4PPM. Yesterday results were Ammonia 4PPM, N02 0.25, PH 8.2, Temp 88F. Today I tested, and I am at Ammonia 2PPM, N02 0.50, PH 7.9, Temp 88F. Why are my ammonia levels already dropping and NO2 rising? I thought it would take some time to see this result. If it falls to 1PPM tomorrow, I'll re-dose to 4PPM... I just wasn't expecting to see a drop this quickly. Could the substrate/filter media from the 5G be accelerating things that much? Other notes -- I've raised the temp to 88F because I understand that is beneficial during a fishless cycle (is that correct)... plus I want to leave the temp up to help accelerate the ich life cycle I may have transferred over from the 5G substrate. As a result, I probably won't add fish for over a month even if the cycle completes early to make sure I've killed the ich. Sorry for such a long message.

Scott