Fishless tank is cloudy?!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cags

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi

I'm relatively new to keeping fish. I was given a single fancy tail Oranda goldfish in a 25l tank and just bought a 110l tank to transfer it into. I've filled up the tank and got the filter and pump running. I added some 'filter booster', but no fish yet... thought I'd wait a day until the temperature of the tank settled. But, now the fishless tank water is cloudy... is it safe to put my Oranda in there? Is this just part of the cycling of the tank (even though I don't have any fish, only gravel in the tank?

I'd really appreciate some help, as I am keen to move my Oranda as its current tank is too small, but I don't want to move it into an environment that would create more problems for it!

Advice/help needed by those in the know please!
Thanks
Cags

Hi and welcome! First of all way to go for getting your fish a larger tank :). Secondly more info would be helpful. What type of filtration are you using? What type of substrate do you have? There is a great sticky on fish-in cycling is this section. It certainly can be done safely. Do you have a test kit?

Set up info

Hi Reygan2

My set up is 110ltr Juwel Rekord tank with internal biofilter. I only have new gravel in the tank at the moment. When I move my fish, I'll transfer the gravel from that tank along with a couple of plants and an ornament. I think I'll attach the old filter as well. I don't have any other substrate, but will probably purchase something when the tank is up and running. It's just a fishless tank at the moment with gravel at the bottom... is there more information that would be helpful?

Many thanks
Cags

Hi Reygan2