Freshwater stocking ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dter

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone. I am a beginner when it comes to tropical tanks. I had a goldfish (that I had rescued from a fair) in a planted 29 gal aquarium but lost him recently in a house fire. I was thinking about starting a new community tropical freshwater tank. I would like to do a 20 gal long due to my budget and space. I know the size of the tank limits my options of fish, so I would like some opinions. I am a big fan of cichlids (especially the rams), gouramies, discus (but they seem to be a little too pricey), and angelfish, but like I said, I know my options will be limited with the tank size. I would also like to eventually have this tank planted. So any stocking suggestions would be appreciated (especially anything that could possibly incorporate those fish)! Thanks in advance!

Ok here is a stocking list that could be nice and hits most of what you mentioned.
2 GBR
1 Pearl gourami
6 Cories (I put albino into aquaadvisor for this)
3 otos
This puts you at 82% stocked so you would have the opportunity to add more later if you'd like.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I wouldn't do GBR and gourami to be honest. My GBR were nasty when they paired up. I'd look into starting with the hardier gourami before you touch rams, they're hard to work with sometimes. Maybe one pearl, some cories, and a school of tetras.

Delivered via owl
Ministry of Magic

Thank you ESeck and emarald76! I have been doing some more research and looking around and have a potential set up. How does this sound?

2 GBR OR 2 pearl gourami
6 black phantom tetra
3-6 cories

Starting with the tetras to get the tank up and running and then adding the cories and then later the GBRs or gourami.