Getting a new 44 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishgirl30

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, I am getting a new tank this next weekend, its going to be a corner tank, 44 gallon. I am SO excited! :lol: Have never had a tank this big before. I was wondering, I am somewhat new to fish keeping, and heard you are supposed to let a new tank 'condition' for awhile. How long do you do this? Can't you just put in water conditioner in it? And, if I do need to let it condition for awhile, can I put in plants? Any thing else you might suggest would be awesome. Thanks so much!

There are 2 parts to the "conditioning" thing.

First, you have to make sure there is nothing bad in the tank left over from maunfacturing, or contamination from store, etc. Brand new silicone gives off acetatic acid (& other bad stuff), & you are supposed to air out newly made tanks before use. However, I expect that having the tank sit in the warehouse, store, etc., there would be plenty of time for that to happen. Next you need to really clean out the tank. Some people use bleach (10:1), other use salt (brine). Just clean everythign well, and rinse & rinse after. & if you use bleach, then you have to use dechlor to get out the bleach after last rinse.

Next, have everthing set up (water, filters, etc), and run the tank for a day or 2. This is just to verify that everthign works properly, and there is no leak.

After that, you can start cycling. There is a myth floating around that you can cycle by just running an empty tank for a week or 2. This is not true. To cycle a tank, you need a source of nitrogen. So you need to either add cycling fish or ammonia (for fishless). You prob. know all about cycling if you had a tank before. If not then I suggest reading the KRIB FAQ. here:

http://fins.actwin.com/mirror/begin.html