Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-07-2012, 01:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
getting started on a 10g tank help me out

I have a 10g tank with a filter and heater. I used api quick start and aquarium salt. What test kits should I get and around how much are they...i have all that stuff in there and a gold fish no plants or anything yet. Everything look ok just want to make sure everything stays ok. I want to get more fish but I want to make sure there not going to die
__________________

__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Nigel227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 17
The API Master Test Kit is the one used and trusted by most of us here on this site. You can get it from a store for $30 or go online (amazon I think has them) to find them cheaper.

You have a goldfish in there now? Keeping a goldfish in a 10 gallon is bad idea. You'll have to be doing daily water changes just to keep the water clean and safe for it. Adding more fish would only create a worse problem for you and I would really advise against it...
__________________

__________________
Nigel227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
I know the goldfish are very dirty fish I can see this lol...I got it at a fair for my daughter it was free. To be honest I thought it would have does by now. I had 2 bit 1 died. To be honest I don't care about cleaning it daily with a siphon iv been doing it for a month now everyday in the little thing I had for it until I got this tank
__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 04:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Musicfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 143
I would suggest finding a new home for the fish if you don't feel like doing daily cleanings of his tank.
__________________
Musicfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:48 PM   #5
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
Goldfish need a minimum of 20 gals for one goldie assuming it's a fancy; comets, commons and koi need ponds as they can grow very large. They also require 10x the normal filtration.

Here are some links to get you started. I suggest doing daily 50% water changes until you can get a test kit (liquid, not strips; API master is best. Most pet/fish stores have it or you can get it from Amazon or BigAls online). Also you should think about either rehoming the fish or upgrading to a 20 gal (larger if you want more fish although there aren't many fish you can keep with goldies as they are coldwater fish, not tropical).

Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium - Aquarium Advice
http://www.myaquariumclub.com/goldfi...-11174823.html
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:24 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,145
Keeping a goldfish under conditions that are unsuitable for it is irresponsible and sometimes downright cruel.
__________________
Bettafanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Alright so I rehomed. The goldie and it was a fancy...I Sid multiple water changes and also naught the test kit...I did a 50% change today after I gave the fish to someone and also had to buy a new heater because my otherone broke. Im going to wait until tomorrow to test the water. What chemicals should I get besides the test lit I got. Do you this.k the tank will develop by itself
__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:48 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Calypso77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 654
Do you want to do fish in or fishless cycle? Fishless cycles are fairly fast a few weeks and fish in is usually 6-8 weeks and you take a chance of losing more fish. I have a good article on how to do a fishless cycle that I always use and my 10 gal was cycled in 2 weeks using it.

And please don't let what some say on here get you down or make you feel bad, chances are they did the same thing.
__________________
Calypso77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:53 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Actually I almost freak out in the 1 person...good reason why I never used forums before Someone always calla me cruel or something stupid for stupid reasons...anyway a fishless cycle...id like to introduce fish to a good environment for a good start you know
__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:57 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Calypso77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdogg View Post
Actually I almost freak out in the 1 person...good reason why I never used forums before Someone always calla me cruel or something stupid for stupid reasons...anyway a fishless cycle...id like to introduce fish to a good environment for a good start you know
Ya I hear ya. Sadly enough there are people on here that I think just like to hear their own voice so to say. Lol. Those people are not worth your time. Ignore them.

Here is the article I follow for my fishless cycles and it works like a charm every time. If you need any help just say the word.

Fishless Cycling - Article at The Age of Aquariums - Tropical Fish
__________________
Calypso77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:20 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Very informal buddy thanks...so I had a goldie in there for a week so I can only guess there is enough ammonia in there...plus the food and feces...so im going.g to actually test it right now and see what my nitrites and ammonia are at and log it down
__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:32 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Calypso77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 654
Ya test your tank and see what they come back at. Your gonna have to feed ammonia to your tank though again as you no longer have anything in there to create it.
__________________
Calypso77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:33 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
So nitrite and ammonia are at about. 25-.50....I guess I kinda started a fish in cycle...what's your opinion...do you think its starting to be cycled...I also did a 50% water change a few hours ago...should I wait till tomorrow and see what happens
__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:35 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Is fish food enough to create ammonia
__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 11:30 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
So I got some ammonia put some on and got it to spike
__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 11:55 AM   #16
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
Good, pure ammonia is the best way to go. How high is ammonia now? You don't want it to go past 4-5 or else that could stall the cycle too; if it's higher than 5 do a water change to get it down.
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 02:09 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
It was higher...I did a 30% water change going.g to wait until later to check it
__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:29 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Another question...I got an acid buffer or something like that...I couldn't find a ph down so I got that...it say it lowers ph but I think it made it higher...what is going on
__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 08:40 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 1,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdogg
Another question...I got an acid buffer or something like that...I couldn't find a ph down so I got that...it say it lowers ph but I think it made it higher...what is going on
It's best not to mess with the Ph, it's better to let it stay stable on its own with your water changes. Trying to adjust it can cause more problems than its worth.
__________________
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:05 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
The water out of my tap is like 7.8
__________________

__________________
macdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
started, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×