Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-01-2011, 10:34 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chasnkevin4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Big spring tx
Posts: 485
What is the difference between the ph test and high range ph test?
__________________

__________________
lil mama
20g-ram&guppiez/30g-JD&pleco/60g-two g. Tile moray eels!
Chasnkevin4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 10:46 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aces11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Huntley, IL
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chasnkevin4ever
What is the difference between the ph test and high range ph test?
High range just can't be detected with the other ph test bottle there's really no difference.
I would check the levels once or twice daily and do water changes whenever ammonia and nitrite are over .25 ppm.
__________________

__________________
Aces11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 10:48 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aces11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Huntley, IL
Posts: 976
How long has the tank been set up? Have you replaced any of the filter media lately? Changing the media could cause a mini cycle.
__________________
Aces11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 10:48 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
The high range pH test is for levels above what the normal pH kit shows. If the normal one gives you a reading...you don't need to worry about the high range.

I don't mean to be rude...but over several threads you've been linked the same cycling guides several times. They show you how to deal with these cycling issues, and do a great job at explaining what causes them as well as how to solve them.

We're all happy to help...but there's really nothing that can be said which isn't already covered in the information that's been given to you numerous times.

If this tank has fish in it...test every day and do water changes however often and however large is necessary to keep the toxins below .25. Here, again, is the guide for it- http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...now/Page2.html

If this is the tank which had the DP which died and is currently empty...here is how you cycle the tank to make it safe for future fish- The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 10:52 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
steez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by eco23 View Post
The high range pH test is for levels above what the normal pH kit shows. If the normal one gives you a reading...you don't need to worry about the high range.

I don't mean to be rude...but over several threads you've been linked the same cycling guides several times. They show you how to deal with these cycling issues, and do a great job at explaining what causes them as well as how to solve them.

We're all happy to help...but there's really nothing that can be said which isn't already covered in the information that's been given to you numerous times.

If this tank has fish in it...test every day and do water changes however often and however large is necessary to keep the toxins below .25. Here, again, is the guide for it- I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?!

If this is the tank which had the DP which died and is currently empty...here is how you cycle the tank to make it safe for future fish- The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling

+1. Read the articles.
__________________
125g Cichlid tank
steez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:01 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chasnkevin4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Big spring tx
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aces11 View Post
How long has the tank been set up? Have you replaced any of the filter media lately? Changing the media could cause a mini cycle.
The tank has been setup for about six months. I just put some new driftwood that I boiled and soaked in it and the tank got cloudy. And yes I use to change my filters media everytime is got dirty but I learned a couple of days ago not to change it but once a month and to clean in water from tank. Thanks.
__________________
lil mama
20g-ram&guppiez/30g-JD&pleco/60g-two g. Tile moray eels!
Chasnkevin4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:05 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chasnkevin4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Big spring tx
Posts: 485
And just to let everyone else know I understand the fishless cycle for ten gallon, I am trying to figure out why my 20 g decided to get cloudy when I put in my new driftwood I boiled and soaked it, could the new decor be causing a mini cycle. And Eco all the info I have been getting from everyone I'm still trying to put everything together and learn how to do these tests. It's just all really confusing but I am catching on
__________________
lil mama
20g-ram&guppiez/30g-JD&pleco/60g-two g. Tile moray eels!
Chasnkevin4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:11 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chasnkevin4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Big spring tx
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by steez View Post
+1. Read the articles.
I have read every article that y'all have given me links for. It's confusing I am more a hands on person. That's why I ask alot and I'm very forgetful! Sorry for asking the same questions.
__________________
lil mama
20g-ram&guppiez/30g-JD&pleco/60g-two g. Tile moray eels!
Chasnkevin4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 12:14 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chasnkevin4ever

The tank has been setup for about six months. I just put some new driftwood that I boiled and soaked in it and the tank got cloudy. And yes I use to change my filters media everytime is got dirty but I learned a couple of days ago not to change it but once a month and to clean in water from tank. Thanks.
I'm sorry if you know but the way this reads you are still replacing the filter media every month? Don't replace it until it is literally fall apart. Even then, put the new media right up against the old for 2-4 weeks so the bacteria have time to move to the new stuff. Then your right to toss the old media.
Again, sorry if I misunderstood.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 12:22 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chasnkevin4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Big spring tx
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
I'm sorry if you know but the way this reads you are still replacing the filter media every month? Don't replace it until it is literally fall apart. Even then, put the new media right up against the old for 2-4 weeks so the bacteria have time to move to the new stuff. Then your right to toss the old media.
Again, sorry if I misunderstood.
Alright that's great to know thanks! If that will avoid the nasty cloudy water and mini cycles then I'm all for doing that. Also, when I add new fish to a new tank is it best (after cycled) to add one fish at a time or can I put two or three in at once?
__________________

__________________
lil mama
20g-ram&guppiez/30g-JD&pleco/60g-two g. Tile moray eels!
Chasnkevin4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phosphate levels too high Pony of the Sea Nano Reefs 8 10-09-2011 12:14 AM
High Nitrite levels :( please be aware I typed a lot(coffee) AddictedtoFishNoW Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 55 09-27-2011 04:09 PM
Ammonia Levels...HELP debart914 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 09-12-2011 06:18 PM
Water levels - slightly confused Vallorn Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 07-27-2011 11:27 PM
Levels in My Tank A Day Before and After a PWC bruinsbro1997 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 07-15-2011 07:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.