Green algae issue

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jokuharn

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I'm a complete newbie in freshwater and having a green algae issue in my 14g BioCube, it has just one goldfish, I can't seem to clean up the green algae even after changing the water way more than usual (75%). I cleaned & changed the water regularly every week and replaced the filter every 3 weeks.
I placed the aquarium next to a window, could that be the cause?
Please give advices.

Thank you.

Attachments

• IMAG0333.jpg
    IMAG0333.jpg
    96.6 KB · Views: 41
Having it near a window could be playing a big part. If you can, move the tank or keep the blinds closed. How long are the lights on your tank for each day? Try cutting it back to 6-7 hours a day. Also what are the lights? You can do a complete black out of the tank for a few days to see if it helps. Place a blanket or towel over the tank and leave the lights off.
On a side note, changing filter media can throw your tank into a mini cycle causing spikes in ammonia and nitrite. It's not very good for your Goldie. Instead keep the media and swish it in a bucket of tank water when it gets clogged. That way the cycle is preserved keeping your fish happy and healthy. When he gets bigger he's going to need a larger tank too.
Oh and welcome btw!

I agree with Mumma.of.two -- when it comes to algae, they rely on two things, light and nutrients. Blacking out the tank short-term and limiting the amount of light it's exposed to long-term will go a long way to solving this issue.

On the nutrient side of things, algae feed of nitrates, the natural end product of the aquarium nitrogen cycle.