Help bully fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Elle

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I am new to having an aquarium and need advice. I have a 65 gallon tank with three fancy goldfish, one other type of goldfish (can’t remember the specific type but has a normal tail) and one rainbow shark.

I was told at petsmart that the rainbow shark is really an algae eater and is not aggressive like it’s look-alike, the red finned shark. The fish have all been together for about two weeks with no issues. However, the past couple days the rainbow shark has been head butting and chasing one of the fancy goldfish (black moore). He ignores the others. Around the same time, we had some sort of bacterial infection get in the tank. Petsmart said our black moore had fin rot on the top dorsal fin and one of the other fancies had an ulcer. We have since been treating the water (about 3-4 days). The black moore’s fin seemed to be getting better but then I noticed the rainbow shark chasing her again and her fin is back to looking shredded, so I think it may be him doing it.

Why is the rainbow shark only picking on one fish? How can I stop him?

PetSmart employees strike again!!!

They lied to you. The rainbow shark and red fin shark are the same thing. They also sold you a tropical fish (rainbow) with a coldwater fish (goldfish). You don't mix the two. They don't have the same water temperature requirements.

Rainbows are aggressive. Ive owned two and they were very territorial. My suggestion is to remove the rainbow because it doesn't belong in a tank with goldfish. You will stress your goldfish to the point of disease and death with higher water temps to accommodate the rainbow and by the sounds of it, the rainbow will stress out and kill the goldfish by it's behavior.