Help deciding on new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RooRoo

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everyone, it's me....again. I had my mind pretty well made up on getting on 75 gallon tank this coming weekend. For those of you who have read some of my other posts, I am a total newbie, with no experience at all fish keeping. I always heard the bigger the tank, the more water, the easier it would be. I am excited about this whole venture, and have been talking fish at work (factory setting) and have found a few people who are into the hobby as well. All have tried to talk me OUT of a 75 gal set up to begin with.

The reasoning they have is 75 gal tank is a lot of work. It's easier to maintain the water quality, they agreed with that, but said the water changes and such are so much more involved and labor intensive. They also stated that general care and chemicals for tap water, hard water (which I have) would be more expensive having to treat more water each time. Their final argument was that I am planning a community tank with small fish, different types of Tetras, platys, swordtails, that type thing, where the largest adult fish is 3 inches. They all said a 75 gal would be overkill for that and a 55 would be more than sufficient, and I would have a better experience and stick with the hobby. They all think if I start 75 I will get frustrated and give up.

I trust you guys here, you've given great advice so far, so what do you guys think?

I think you should stick to your plan and get the 75g. There really is not such thing as overkill in size IMO. I wish I had opted for the 75g instead of the 55g for my sw setup but it is what it is.

Good luck, looking forward to pictures when you get your tank!