Help for a Beginner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kassidy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there everyone,

I posted here once a while ago about my three fish; a weather loach and two goldfish, for those of you who can remember me. Anyways, some members here gave me some advice regarding tank size, and recommended that I get a 55 gallon at least for the fish I have, as that is the ideal size for them.

Well, I'm pretty much a total beginner in the fish and aquarium world, so I'm here for some help. I'm thinking of taking that advice and getting a 55 gallon aquarium, but I need some help and advice on the best kind to purchase, and more on a good way to transfer my fish into it and to set it up for them.

Right now, I have my eye on this 55 gallon tank that someone is selling locally, so I'd just like some of your opinions on it. Here is a description of the ad:

[ They have a 55 gallon aquarium that includes a canopy, heater and lights. There are two filters also available if wanted. It is a 4-foot long tank, and they are selling it for $150. ]

So, what do you think? I'm not set on getting this one, but I checked what the regular prices at pet stores for kits like this are, and the one I saw cost $299.88. I'm not sure what I should go for at this point. I'm waiting on a reply from the seller for more information and possibly pictures of the tank though.

If anyone has any opinions or advice, I'd appreciate it if you posted it here. Thanks in advance!

-Kass

For $150 it sounds like a great deal. I would just go and check in out to make sure nothing is cracked or broken before you buy anything.

The deal doesn't sound bad. Does it include a stand? I'm assuming not since it's not listed, but if by chance it does, and the everything is in good working condition, then I'd say go for it.