Help me build my (small) fish community!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Geist

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys!

I'm new to everything, so any advice will be welcome. I have posted my starting up story in a separate post. While I work on cycling my tank, I want to start planning up my little fish community.

Essentials info: 10gal, 50w heater at 78F, 5 plants, a plastic twisted log thingy and a tacky plastic greek temple front.

I currently have one mickey mouse platy and one wag tail platy, both females.

My original naive plans (that's after dropping the sexy balloon mollies for lack of decent tank size)?

3-4 platies
1 dwarf gourami cobalt
1 honey gourami
1 apple snail
some sort of shrimp? or something else like a group of 6 pygme corydoras or entlers livebearers.

I'm reading conflicting information with regards to compatibility (platies and both gouramis) as well as tank volume requirement (dwarf gourami). I also now realize that the above is way too much for the tank I have.

Still reading? :) What I need from you avid aquarists is advice on how to build from my two platies using some of the fishes stated above, if at all possible. I welcome suggestions outside this list, but keep in mind I'm new to this so would rather start with pets who don't require too much specific care.

Your help is greatly appreciated, everything I've learned so far has been mostly from browsing though these forums!

Thanks,

Geist

I would wait a while. Since you bought livebearers, they could be prego, and in no time you will have even more fish LOL. They can have babies for around 3 months, I believe, with no males in there, since they could have been impregnated at the pet store. :)

+1