Help!! Trying to cycle my tank, may have ruined it!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Seth

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello
I'm relatively new to the aquatic life, and frankly... i am so ashamed of myself for making possibly a terrible, terrible decision.
I may have used an eco-friendly cleaner i bought from Home Depot on my fish tank...

I've been trying to cycle my tank for 3 weeks now. The first week i put in the "quick start" stuff by API my Amonia was at about .25 and didn't change all week.
I added some ammonia, got it to about 2ppm (which i read is pretty good to try to get nitrates)
A week later, nothing... No drop.

I 100% changed my water because i realized i put the tank accessories in the eco-friendly cleaner i got from Home Depot and residue might be left over and killing the good bacteria. Took those out, soaked them for a really long time (probably about 6 hours) in water hoping to get the rest of the cleaner-product off.

I put about 2/4 of the items back into the tank, and the bigger items decided to scrap since it was getting too crowded anyway.

Put in the Quick Start again.
A week later the ammonia level raised to .25 again. No nitrates a week later. No going down in Ammonia..

I now realized i ALSO cleaned the tank (because i got it used from craigslist, and i don't know how the previous owner's fish had died and was afraid my new aqauatic life would get whatever disease his fish may have had) with the same eco-friendly home depot cleaner.....

What do i do!?
Is the ammonia not dropping because the nitrates can't be created because of the cleaner-residue?!
How do i fix this
;_;
I am very stressed out about this, i want my aquatic life to be in their tank and happy.....