Help with a 10 gallon, 3 gallon, and surprise ADFs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

owl7

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all,

I've been using this site for the past several months as I get back into fish keeping and it's been a tremendous help! Thank you everyone! Now I have a dilemma and could really use your help, hence my first post. :)

I currently have a cycled, planted 3 gallon tank (Marineland Eclipse variety) with a single male betta and two otos in it that has been running for a few months now. They seem pretty happy and the water parameters are good (no ammonia or nitrates,). I'll post more detailed parameters later tonight after dinner.

I just bought a 10 gallon tank that is currently set up with Ecocomplete and several freshwater plants and is in the process of cycling. I am going to put some cherry shrimp in there (a friend is going to give me about 10 of them) and was hoping to put a dwarf gourami along with a number of schooling fish (rasboras or tetras, etc.) in as I've seen suggested on this forum.

My problem is that yesterday another friend gave me his two ADFs in a 1 gallon tank! He didn't want them anymore. I don't know what to do with them. I know the 1 gallon is too small for them to live happily and am not sure where to place them. I could put them in the 3 gallon with the otos and betta (the betta is calm), but I worry that is overstocking the tank. I could put them in the 10 gallon, but I worry they won't get along with the eventual gourami + other fish I want to get (and potentially eating the shrimp) and then that tank will be overstocked too!

The only thing I'm really set on is the gourami and cherry shrimp in the 10 gal. I don't mind where the ADFs go and could give up the school of fish if it will be better for the new mini ecosystem!