Help with a new aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kel1971

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am very new to the fish world and have been reading and reading about how to set up an aquarium properly and I have to say there is so much information it's a bit confusing to this newbie!

We started with an aquarium we have had in storage for a long time. Cleaned it up and set it up and the first fish we put in it are dying. I put 3 platies in last night and their gills started turning red after a short time. Today 2/3 are gone and the last one is not looking so well.
It's a 30 gallon tank with heater and filter and live plants. We had it up and running for just over a week before introducing some fish. I've read about cycling with fish and without. So thought we would start with a few fish now I can see that's not such a good idea.
We have tested the water and the nitrates and nitrites are 0 but alkalinity and pH are high.
Does anyone have any ideas why the fish's gills were turning red or any suggestions on what we can do moving forward?

I don't think so. We didn't use anything to clean it other than water. We used water and vinegar on the outside. (Maybe that is the issue, maybe some got in it?)
There was a lot of dust in it from being in storage though.

Where did you get the feesh?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Definitely not a cycling issue. Perhaps some of the vinegar did not wash off?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I'm thinking if the last fish does not make it, maybe we will just empty it and start over.
What us the best way to properly clean out a tank and start from scratch?

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Try running some carbon - this might soak up any poisonous compound. It won't help with ammonia so I would pick up a test kit to check that one.